Wuerffel Trophy Announces 2022 Finalists

Three finalists named for College Football’s Top Community Service Award

ATLANTA – November 29, 2022 – The Wuerffel Trophy today announced its finalists for the 2022 award.

The finalists are (alphabetically by university):

  • Dillan Gibbons, Florida State, Senior, Offensive Line
  • Tanner Morgan, Minnesota, Senior, Quarterback
  • Patrick Fields, Stanford, Senior, Defensive Back

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented each February in Fort Walton Beach, Fla. Named after Danny Wuerffel, 1996 Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world.

“It’s an incredibly challenging task for our selection committee to narrow our list of 109 FBS nominees to three Wuerffel Trophy finalists, and this year was no different,” said Wuerffel. “These three deserving student-athletes are remarkable leaders and are making a tremendous impact in their respective communities. Congratulations to Dillan, Tanner, and Patrick for being named 2022 Wuerffel Trophy finalists. I am thrilled that this year’s recipient will join me at the Heisman Ceremony and Gala in New York City.”

The Wuerffel Trophy recipient will be formally announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, airing on ESPN on December 8, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. EST/6:00 p.m. CST. The recipient will attend the Heisman Trophy ceremonies, including the press conference, televised announcement, and the Heisman Gala. The presentation of the 2022 Wuerffel Trophy will occur on February 24, 2023, at the 54th All Sports Association Awards Banquet in Fort  Walton Beach.

Past recipients of the award are Rudy Niswanger – LSU – 2005; Joel Penton – Ohio State – 2006; Paul Smith – Tulsa – 2007; Tim Tebow – Florida – 2008; Tim Hiller – Western Michigan – 2009; Sam Acho – Texas – 2010; Barrett Jones – Alabama – 2011; Matt Barkley – USC – 2012; Gabe Ikard – Oklahoma – 2013; Deterrian Shackelford – Ole Miss – 2014; Ty Darlington – Oklahoma – 2015; Trevor Knight – Texas A&M – 2016; Courtney Love – Kentucky - 2017; Drue Tranquill – Notre Dame – 2018; Jon Wassink – Western Michigan – 2019; Teton Saltes – New Mexico – 2020; Isaiah Sanders – Stanford– 2021.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast more than 800 recipients, dating back to 1935. For more information on the NCFAA, visit NCFAA.org.

The Wuerffel Trophy is supported by its corporate partners Dart Container Corporation/Solo Cup and Herff Jones.



Established in 2005, the Wuerffel Trophy honors college football players who serve others, celebrate their impact, and inspire greater service in the world.  A member of the National College Football Awards Association, the Wuerffel Trophy is presented annually to the FBS player who best combines exemplary community service with leadership achievement on and off the field.  It is the first major award honoring the character of service to others.

The Wuerffel Trophy is named after Heisman Trophy winner, College Football Hall of Famer, former NFL quarterback, and renowned humanitarian Danny Wuerffel, whose mission is to inspire greater service worldwide. Wuerffel led the University of Florida to four SEC Championships and the Gators’ first National Football Championship as the team’s star quarterback. The 1996 Heisman Trophy winner set 17 NCAA and Florida records and won a myriad of other awards, including the Maxwell Award, the Davey O’Brien Award, and The William V. Campbell Trophy, presented to the nation’s top scholar-athlete. As a nationally recognized humanitarian, Wuerffel inspires leaders to use their influence to make a positive impact and currently serves as President of the Wuerffel Foundation.


Tom Brassell, tombrassell@wuerffeltrophy.org


Todd Starowitz, media@wuerffelfoundation.org