Our Story


The Wuerffel Trophy honors college football players who serve others, celebrates their impact, and inspires greater service in the world.  As a member of the National College Football Awards Association, The Wuerffel Trophy was the first major award honoring the character of service to others.

Named after Hall of Fame quarterback Danny Wuerffel, who led the Florida Gators to their first National Championship in 1996, receiving the Heisman Trophy, Johnny Unitas and Campbell Awards, this award represents that which is good in the world of college sports.  As a nationally recognized humanitarian, Wuerffel inspires leaders to use their influence to make a positive impact.

We are proud of the many nominees, semifinalists, and award recipients who have chosen to serve others as they pursue greatness on the field and classroom. 

"Danny Wuerffel represents not only everything that’s wonderful about intercollegiate athletics, but he represents everything that’s great about the human spirit."

Tim Brando, American Sportscaster

credited Melissa Macatee, National Football Foundation (NFF)
Photo : Melissa Macatee, National Football Foundation (NFF)

The History

A Look At The Story Behind The Trophy


When it came to commemorating the Wuerffel Trophy,  W. Stanley “Sandy” Proctor crafted the iconic bronze in a symbolic gesture associated with the namesake. Proctor has a national reputation as a professional sculptor of the highest caliber, with accomplishments in sculpting, painting and stone carving – with  work displayed at museums of national and international recognition.  After more than 30 years as a professional artist, Sandy was inducted into the Florida Artists Hall of Fame in 2006, in the distinguished company of Ernest Hemingway, Ray Charles, Tennessee Williams, and Zora Neale Hurston, among others.

Wuerffel Trophies On Display

"The aim is to inspire people to be community minded, to live for others, to sacrifice their own interests for the benefit of the community."

Danny Wuerffel

Danny Wuerffel

Humanitarian. Heisman Winner. National Champion.
Scroll to Top