2005 Wuerffel Trophy Recipient

Rudy Niswanger is an excellent representation of the values associated with the Wuerffel Trophy, and will be looked upon in future years as a wonderful inaugural recipient of the award.

As a starting center for LSU, Niswanger was a key member of the 2003 BCS National Title Team.  While winning on the field, this student athlete maintained a 4.0 GPA in pre-med and was named National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete recipient in 2005

 Niswanger has served many youth groups, speaking and mentoring, as well as volunteered in hospitals.  Following Hurricane Katrina, Niswanger volunteered in shelters, providing emotional support to the survivors and welcoming them to Baton Rouge. Niswanger organized clothing and bedding drive to support the Hurricane Katrina evacuees that were house in the Maddox Field House amongst other outstanding community service efforts.

We are proud to name Rudy Niswanger the first Wuerffel Trophy Recipient.


NOW : After a five year career in the NFL with the Kansas City Chiefs, Rudy returned home to Monroe, Louisiana where he serves as President and CEO of Joe Gear Companies.


“Kentucky is a place where they avidly care about sports and everybody just kind of helps each other.”

It Takes a Village, We are Proof – Courtney Love and UK Healthcare

“It Takes a Village” “Community service was always something that I did growing up. My dad always made that a first and foremost type of ...
Read More →

Courtney Love Named UK Football Director of Player Development

The two-time letter winner won the 2017 Wuerffel Trophy and was named to the 2017 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team BY: University of Kentucky ...
Read More →

Courtney Love’s Pro Day at University of Kentucky

By Jennifer Smith – Lining the walls of the weight room and the sidelines of the indoor training center taking in Friday’s Kentucky Pro ...
Read More →

Courtney Love Accepts 2017 Wuerffel Trophy

Courtney Love of the University of Kentucky officially joined the family of Wuerffel Trophy recipients as he accepted the 2017 Wuerffel Trophy from Danny Wuerffel ...
Read More →
Scroll to Top