Dillan Gibbons of Florida State University Named 2022 Wuerffel Trophy Recipient

December 8, 2022 – The Wuerffel Foundation today announced Senior offensive lineman Dillan Gibbons of Florida State University as the 2022 recipient of the coveted Wuerffel Trophy, “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service.” Gibbons was recognized during The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN, and will be presented his official award in February at a ceremony in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

One of the most meaningful awards in collegiate sports, the Wuerffel Trophy is named after Danny Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback from the University of Florida who parlayed his success on the football field into a lifetime of service. The Wuerffel Trophy embodies Danny’s commitment to being a humanitarian, while honoring a student-athlete who is inspired to serve others and is committed to making a positive impact on society.

Gibbons’ honor centers on the non-profit corporation he founded called Big Man Big Heart, Inc., a 501(c)(3) Florida non-profit. Big Man Big Heart’s mission is to promote NCAA college athletes use of their name, image, and likeness (NIL) to promote unity, positivity and kindness in their community and beyond.  Since Big Man Heart’s inception, Gibbons has recruited eight Collegiate Ambassadors at ACC and SEC football programs across the country, helping them start their own GoFundMe initiatives. Since July of 2021, Big Man Big Heart has raised over $425,000 for underserved populations and individuals with special needs impacted by natural disasters and horrific accidents.

“We are excited to recognize Dillan Gibbons as this year’s recipient of the Wuerffel Trophy,” said Danny Wuerffel. “Dillan’s leadership, strong desire to serve others, and tireless efforts to improve the lives of those around him, truly reflects what the Wuerffel Trophy is all about.”

Gibbons, who has started all 12 games at left guard this season and 23 over his two-year FSU career, carries a 3.53 cumulative GPA, while he is pursuing his MBA. He was named honorable mention All-ACC in 2021, as well as earning All-ACC Academic Team and ACC Honor Roll distinction last year. Prior to FSU, he earned his bachelor’s degree in management and consulting from the Mendoza College of Business at Notre Dame. He was recently named as the 2022 recipient of the Jim Tatum Award (ACC’s top football scholar-athlete), as well as being named to the 2022 Allstate Good Works Team.

In addition to his awards, Gibbons has been recognized on ESPN’s College GameDay, as well as the ACC Network and national television broadcasts of Florida State games for his remarkable ability to balance excellence in the classroom and on the field, while continuing to push forward using his platform to benefit others.

Adds Wuerffel, ”I also want to also congratulate our other finalists, Tanner Morgan of Minnesota and Patrick Fields of Stanford, who are inspiring young men and incredibly deserving of this recognition. We look forward to following their next chapters as they work to improve their communities and our world.”

The recipient will attend the Heisman Trophy ceremonies, including the press conference, televised announcement, and the Heisman Gala. The presentation of the 2022 Wuerffel Trophy will occur on February 24, 2023, at the 54th All Sports Association Awards Banquet in Fort Walton Beach.

Past recipients of the award are Rudy Niswanger – LSU – 2005; Joel Penton – Ohio State – 2006; Paul Smith – Tulsa – 2007; Tim Tebow – Florida – 2008; Tim Hiller – Western Michigan – 2009; Sam Acho – Texas – 2010; Barrett Jones – Alabama – 2011; Matt Barkley – USC – 2012; Gabe Ikard – Oklahoma – 2013; Deterrian Shackelford – Ole Miss – 2014; Ty Darlington – Oklahoma – 2015; Trevor Knight – Texas A&M – 2016; Courtney Love – Kentucky - 2017; Drue Tranquill – Notre Dame – 2018; Jon Wassink – Western Michigan – 2019; Teton Saltes – New Mexico – 2020; Isaiah Sanders – Stanford– 2021.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast more than 800 recipients, dating back to 1935. For more information on the NCFAA, visit NCFAA.org.

The Wuerffel Trophy is supported by its corporate partners Dart Container Corporation/Solo Cup and Herff Jones.


Established in 2005, the Wuerffel Trophy honors college football players who serve others, celebrate their impact, and inspire greater service in the world.  A member of the National College Football Awards Association, the Wuerffel Trophy is presented annually to the FBS player who best combines exemplary community service with leadership achievement on and off the field.  It is the first major award honoring the character of service to others.

The Wuerffel Trophy is named after Heisman Trophy winner, College Football Hall of Famer, former NFL quarterback, and renowned humanitarian Danny Wuerffel, whose life mission is to inspire greater service in the world. Wuerffel led the University of Florida to four SEC Championships and the Gators’ first National Football Championship as the team’s star quarterback. The 1996 Heisman Trophy winner set 17 NCAA and Florida records and won a myriad of other awards including the Maxwell Award, the Davey O’Brien Award, and The William V. Campbell Trophy, presented to the nation’s top scholar-athlete. As a nationally recognized humanitarian, Wuerffel inspires leaders to use their influence to make a positive impact and currently serves as President of the Wuerffel Foundation.


Tom Brassell, tombrassell@wuerffeltrophy.org


Todd Starowitz, media@wuerffelfoundation.org