The Wuerffel Trophy

Honoring Community Service Impact Leadership Inspiration Integrity Humility

College football's
premier award for
Community Service.

Honoring college football’s most impactful leaders in community service, The Wuerffel Trophy is presented to the FBS player who best combines exemplary community service with leadership achievement on and off the field. National voters consider nominees from over 100 major universities. The Wuerffel Trophy brothers support each other’s efforts around the country.

Named for Danny Wuerffel, 1996 National Championship winning quarterback of the University of Florida Gators –  who is renowned for his commitment to service and leadership – The Wuerffel Trophy is the premier major college football award that places the majority of its voting emphasis on Community Service.

"“Life is not all just about sports and tossing around a football. It's about changing lives and helping people.”"

Courtney Love, 2017 Wuerffel Trophy Recipient


Florida State University
Senior, Offensive Line


University of Minnesota
Senior, Quarterback


Stanford University
Senior, Defensive Back

Scroll to Top