2020 Wuerffel Trophy Semifinalists Announced

Nine Players Named Semifinalists for College Football’s Top Community Service Award


FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. – December 7, 2020 – The Wuerffel Trophy announced today its semifinalists for the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy.


The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually to the Football Bowl Subdivision player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback from the University of Florida, Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world. The award has honored over 1,300 nominees since its inception in 2005.


“It is always an extremely difficult job narrowing our nominees and this year’s class was no different,” said Danny Wuerffel.  “The work that these young men did in their communities, and in some cases around the world, really stood out.  We are proud to announce that they have been named our 2020 Wuerffel Trophy semifinalists.”


The 2020 Wuerffel Trophy semifinalists are listed alphabetically by university:

  • Shai Werts, Georgia Southern University, senior, quarterback
  • Michael Saffell, University of California, senior, offensive line
  • Luke Fortner, University of Kentucky, senior, offensive line
  • Brady White, University of Memphis, senior, quarterback
  • Mac Brown, University of Mississippi, senior, punter
  • Teton Saltes, University of New Mexico, senior, offensive line
  • Tyriq Harris, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, senior, defensive line
  • Sam Ehlinger, University of Texas, senior, quarterback
  • Mike Caliendo, Western Michigan University, senior, offensive line


Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities’ Sports Information Departments and closed on November 2. The three 2020 Wuerffel Trophy finalists are scheduled to be announced on December 22.


Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a national selection committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients.


The formal announcement of the 2020 recipient is anticipated to be made the week of December 26 – January 2. The 2020 recipient will be featured on The Home Depot/ESPN College Football Awards Show on January 7, 2021 airing from 7:00pm-8:30pm EST.


The presentation of the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy is scheduled to occur at the 52nd All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 20, 2021 in Niceville, Fla.


Past recipients of the award are: Rudy Niswanger – LSU – 2005; Joel Penton – Ohio State – 2006; Paul Smith – Tulsa – 2007; Tim Tebow – Florida – 2008; Tim Hiller – Western Michigan – 2009; Sam Acho – Texas – 2010; Barrett Jones – Alabama – 2011; Matt Barkley – USC – 2012; Gabe Ikard – Oklahoma – 2013; Deterrian Shackelford – Ole Miss – 2014; Ty Darlington – Oklahoma – 2015; Trevor Knight – Texas A&M – 2016; Courtney Love – Kentucky; 2017; Drue Tranquill – Notre Dame; 2018; Jon Wassink – Western Michigan – 2019.


The Wuerffel Trophy is presented by Chick-fil-A and is also supported by its corporate partners Dart Container Corporation/Solo Cup and Herff Jones.


The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast more than 800 recipients, dating back to 1935. Visit www.ncfaa.org to learn more about the association.


Contact: Tom Brassell, tombrassell@wuerffeltrophy.org, (850) 585-5512






Scroll to Top