2020 Wuerffel Trophy Nominees Announced

97 players receive consideration for award honoring college football’s top community servant


FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. – The Wuerffel Trophy announced its 2020 nomination list from college football’s Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented each February in Northwest Florida. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback from the University of Florida, Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world.

“It is so uplifting to see that we’ve received 97 nominations for the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy, especially during these uncertain times,” said Danny Wuerffel. “College football is filled with high quality, high character student-athletes, and our mission is to shine a spotlight on them and the work they do in their communities and around the world.”

Notable returning nominees include 2019 Semifinalists offensive lineman Teton Saltes of the University of New Mexico and quarterback Sam Ehlinger of the University of Texas. Also, returning are 2019 nominees Michael Saffel (University of California), Tyriq Harris (University of North Carolina at Charlotte), Brady White (University of Memphis), Zach McCloud (University of Miami), Mac Brown (University of Mississippi), Kobe Jones (Mississippi State University), Ben Stille (University of Nebraska) and Brian Ankerson (University of South Alabama).


Maverick Wolfley, Akron, junior, tight end
Miller Forristall, Alabama, senior, tight end
Noah Hannon, App State, senior, offensive lineman
Bryce Wolma, Arizona, senior, tight end
Ethan Long, Arizona State, sophomore, tight end
Grant Morgan, Arkansas, senior, linebacker
Andre Harris Jr., Arkansas State, junior, offensive lineman
Joe Stephenson, Army, senior, linebacker
Chandler Wooten, Auburn, senior, linebacker
Brandon Martin, Ball State, junior, linebacker
Terrel Bernard, Baylor, junior, linebacker
Donte Harrington, Boise State, senior, offensive lineman
Max Machel, Buffalo, sophomore, defensive lineman
Bracken El-Bakri, BYU, senior, defensive lineman
Michael Saffell, California, senior, offensive lineman
Tyriq Harris, Charlotte, senior, defensive lineman
Blake Bacevich, Cincinnati, sophomore, defensive lineman
Darien Rencher, Clemson, senior, running back
C.J. Brewer, Coastal Carolina, senior, defensive lineman
Barry Wesley, Colorado State, junior, offensive lineman
Rakavius Chambers, Duke, senior, offensive lineman
Holton Ahlers, East Carolina, junior, quarterback
Thomas Odukoya, Eastern Michigan, senior, tight end
Dante Lang, Florida, sophomore, tight end
Bryce Singleton, Florida International, junior, wide receiver/special teams
Jaiden Lars-Woodbey, Florida State, sophomore, defensive back
Eric Stokes, Georgia, junior, defensive back
Shai Werts, Georgia Southern, senior, quarterback
Jack DeFoor, Georgia Tech, senior, offensive lineman
Hekili Keliiliki, Hawaii, junior, running back
Payton Turner, Houston, senior, defensive lineman
Doug Kramer, Illinois, senior, offensive lineman
Harry Crider, Indiana, senior, offensive lineman
Brock Purdy, Iowa State, junior, quarterback
Chris Hughes, Kansas, senior, offensive lineman
Skylar Thompson, Kansas State, senior, quarterback
Dustin Crum, Kent State, senior, quarterback
Luke Fortner, Kentucky, senior, offensive lineman
Jalen Williams, Louisiana, senior, wide receiver
Joshua Mote, Louisiana Tech, junior, offensive lineman
Liam Shanahan, LSU, senior, offensive lineman
Brenden Knox, Marshall, junior, running back
Brady White, Memphis, senior, quarterback
Zach McCloud, Miami, senior, linebacker
Adam Shibley, Michigan, senior, linebacker
Asher O’Hara, Middle Tennessee, junior, quarterback
Kobe Jones, Mississippi State, senior, defensive lineman
Kobie Whiteside, Missouri, senior, defensive lineman
Cameron Kinley, Navy, senior, defensive back
Trenton Gill, NC State, junior, punter
Ben Stille, Nebraska, senior, defensive lineman
Lawson Hall, Nevada, senior, linebacker
Teton Saltes, New Mexico, senior, offensive lineman
Sage Doxtater , New Mexico State, senior, offensive lineman
Joe Spivak, Northwestern, senior, defensive lineman
Daelin Hayes, Notre Dame, senior, defensive lineman
Master Teague, Ohio State, sophomore, running back
Caleb Kelly, Oklahoma, senior, linebacker
Chuba Hubbard, Oklahoma State, junior, running back
Isaac Weaver, Old Dominion, senior, offensive lineman
Mac Brown, Ole Miss, senior, punter
Isaac Hodgins, Oregon State, junior, defensive lineman
Patrick Jones II, Pittsburgh, senior, defensive lineman
Grant Hermanns, Purdue, senior, offensive lineman
Christian Webb, San Jose State, senior, linebacker
Shane Buechele, SMU, senior, quarterback
Brian Ankerson, South Alabama, senior, offensive lineman
Dylan Wonnum, South Carolina, junior, offensive lineman
Swayze Bozeman, Southern Miss, senior, linebacker
Connor Wedington, Stanford, senior, wide receiver
Kingsley Jonathan, Syracuse, senior, defensive lineman
Garret Wallow, TCU, senior, linebacker
Isaiah Graham-Mobley, Temple, senior, linebacker
Trey Smith, Tennessee, senior, offensive lineman
Sam Ehlinger, Texas, senior, quarterback
Kellen Mond, Texas A&M, senior, quarterback
Zech McPhearson, Texas Tech, senior, defensive back
Bailey Flint, Toledo, senior, punter
Luke Whittemore, Troy, junior, wide receiver
Sorrell Brown, Tulane, sophomore, wide receiver
Chris Paul, Tulsa, junior, offensive lineman
Wilson Beaverstock, UAB, sophomore, kicker
Sam Jackson, UCF, junior, offensive lineman
Brian Keating, UConn, senior, long snapper
Erik Krommenhoek, USC, senior, tight end
KJ Sails, USF, senior, defensive back/special teams
Devin Lloyd, Utah, junior, linebacker
Justus Te’i, Utah State, senior, defensive lineman
Solomon Wise, UTSA, senior, linebacker
Andre Mintze, Vanderbilt, senior, linebacker
Terrell Jana, Virginia, senior, wide receiver
Race Porter, Washington, senior, punter/special teams
Travell Harris, Washington State, junior, wide receiver/special teams
Jarret Doege, West Virginia, junior, quarterback
Devon Key, Western Kentucky, senior, defensive back
Mike Caliendo, Western Michigan, senior, offensive lineman
Madison Cone, Wisconsin, senior, defensive back

Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities’ Sports Information Departments and closed on November 2. A current list of nominees can be found at www.wuerffeltrophy.org. Semifinalists for the award will be announced on November 29 and finalists will be announced on December 8.

The formal announcement of the 2020 recipient is anticipated to be made the week of December 26 – January 2. The presentation of the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy is scheduled to occur at the 52nd All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 20, 2021, in Niceville, Fla.

Past recipients of the award are: Rudy Niswanger – LSU – 2005; Joel Penton – Ohio State – 2006; Paul Smith – Tulsa – 2007; Tim Tebow – Florida – 2008; Tim Hiller – Western Michigan – 2009; Sam Acho – Texas – 2010; Barrett Jones – Alabama – 2011; Matt Barkley – USC – 2012; Gabe Ikard – Oklahoma – 2013; Deterrian Shackelford – Ole Miss – 2014; Ty Darlington – Oklahoma – 2015; Trevor Knight – Texas A&M – 2016; Courtney Love – Kentucky; 2017; Drue Tranquill – Notre Dame; 2018; Jon Wassink – Western Michigan – 2019.

The Wuerffel Trophy is presented by Chick-fil-A and is also supported by its corporate partners Dart Container Corporation/Solo Cup and Herff Jones.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast more than 800 recipients, dating back to 1935. Visit www.ncfaa.org to learn more about the association.


Contact: Tom Brassell, tombrassell@wuerffeltrophy.org, (850) 585-5512



Scroll to Top