2020 Wuerffel Trophy Recipient Announcement

Winner of College Football’s Top Community Service Award for 2020 to be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards


FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. – December 31, 2020 – The Wuerffel Trophy will have a new stage for the announcement of its recipient this year. Normally made in New York City two days prior to The Home Depot College Football Awards, this year the unveiling of the recipient will be made on the show itself.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually to the Football Bowl Subdivision player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback from the University of Florida, Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world. The award has honored over 1,400 nominees since its inception in 2005.

“We are beyond excited to have our recipient announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards,” said Danny Wuerffel. “Now more than ever, we need leaders who serve others above themselves and I believe honoring the Wuerffel Trophy winner in this way will inspire greater service in the world.”

The 30th edition of The Home Depot College Football Awards will air on Thursday, Jan. 7, at 7 p.m. ET, on ESPN. The annual awards show recognizes the accomplishments of some of the nation’s top college football student-athletes. This year’s 90-minute virtual special will be hosted by Rece Davis with reporter Holly Rowe.

“With all of the challenges faced in the 2020 season, we are looking forward to the opportunity to celebrate the game, its players, coaches and the amazing performances that have taken place,” said Mark Wolpert, president of the National College Football Awards Association. “This season’s award show will truly be a recognition of not only the top players, but more importantly the incredible efforts involved in making this season possible.”

The following awards will be presented during the live telecast:

The show will also recognize recipients of the following awards:

The formal presentation of the Wuerffel Trophy, normally made at the Annual All Sports Association’s Award Banquet in Fort Walton Beach each February, will be made at a time and place in 2021 to be determined due to the conditions created by CoVid-19.

Past recipients of the award are: Rudy Niswanger – LSU – 2005; Joel Penton – Ohio State – 2006; Paul Smith – Tulsa – 2007; Tim Tebow – Florida – 2008; Tim Hiller – Western Michigan – 2009; Sam Acho – Texas – 2010; Barrett Jones – Alabama – 2011; Matt Barkley – USC – 2012; Gabe Ikard – Oklahoma – 2013; Deterrian Shackelford – Ole Miss – 2014; Ty Darlington – Oklahoma – 2015; Trevor Knight – Texas A&M – 2016; Courtney Love – Kentucky; 2017; Drue Tranquill – Notre Dame; 2018; Jon Wassink – Western Michigan – 2019.

The Wuerffel Trophy is presented by Chick-fil-A®, and is also supported by its corporate partners Dart Container Corporation/Solo Cup and Herff Jones.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast more than 800 recipients, dating back to 1935. Visit www.ncfaa.org to learn more about the association.


Contact: Tom Brassell, tombrassell@wuerffeltrophy.org, (850) 585-5512

Scroll to Top