Archie Griffin Joins Wuerffel Trophy National Selection Committee

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla.– July 21, 2020 – The Wuerffel Trophy announced today that college football legend Archie Griffin has joined its prestigious team of national voters.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented each February in Fort Walton Beach. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback from the University of Florida, Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world.

“I’m honored and excited to join the team who selects the Wuerffel Trophy each season,” said Griffin. “This special award honoring those who dedicate themselves to community service has a special place in my heart because I learned long ago from my coach and mentor, Woody Hayes, about the importance of paying forward to the next generation. It remains one of the most important and impactful lessons of my life.”

Danny Wuerffel, the award’s namesake, was equally excited.

“Archie Griffin is not only synonymous with greatness on the field, but also with character and class as a person and in service to others,” said Wuerffel. “To say that we are excited to have him join our team of national voters would be an understatement. We are both over the top ecstatic and tremendously proud to announce that he is a part of Team Wuerffel.”

In 1974, Griffin became just the fifth junior ever to win the Heisman Trophy. In 1975, he became the first player ever to win a second Heisman. Decades later he is still the only player to have two of the coveted bronze statues, which go annually to the nation’s top college football player. In January 2020, Griffin was named the fourth greatest player in college football history. Griffin’s legendary collegiate career at Ohio State saw him set the NCAA Division I rushing record while rushing for another NCAA record of consecutive 100-yard games: 31.

Griffin is a member of both the National Football Foundation and the Rose Bowl Halls of Fame and, of course, belongs to the Ohio State University Athletics Hall of Fame.  While his 5,589 rushing yards are still the Ohio State standard, Griffin has become a beloved favorite of college football fans nationwide because of his humble nature, first-class demeanor, patience and welcoming presence to anyone and everyone he meets. 

After graduation, Griffin was a first-round draft choice of the Cincinnati Bengals. He played eight years of professional football, before returning to Columbus and joining the staff at Ohio State.  More on Griffin can be found

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast more than 800 recipients, dating back to 1935. Visit to learn more about the association.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a two-week period this month.  Sixteen of the association’s 25 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates.  Following is the complete 2020 preseason watch list calendar:

Monday, July 13: Bednarik Award
Tuesday, July 14: Davey O’Brien Award
Wednesday, July 15: Doak Walker Award
Thursday, July 18: Biletnikoff Award
Friday, July 19: John Mackey Award
Monday, July 20: Butkus Award and Paycom Jim Thorpe Award
Tuesday, July 21: Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Outland Trophy
Wednesday, July 22: Lou Groza Award and Ray Guy Award
Thursday, July 23: Wuerffel Trophy and Paul Hornung Award
Friday, July 24: Maxwell Award

The Wuerffel Trophy is presented by Chick-fil-A® and is also supported by its corporate partners Dart Container Corporation/Solo Cup and Herff Jones.

Scroll to Top