ESPN’s Kevin Negandhi Joins Wuerffel Trophy National Selection Committee

ATLANTA – July 26, 2022 – The Wuerffel Trophy announced today that ESPN and ABC
broadcaster Kevin Negandhi has joined its prestigious team of national voters.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented to the FBS player who best combines exemplary community service with leadership achievement on and off the field. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback from the University of Florida, Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world. More than 80 major universities nominate players for the award.

Said Negandhi, “In the game of football, so much attention is given to the big plays and the biggest names. The Wuerffel Trophy reminds us to pause and celebrate the character of these young men making a difference on and off the field.”

Danny Wuerffel, the award’s namesake added, “The National Selection Committee members help shine a spotlight on the incredible contributions these student-athletes make in their communities while playing football at the highest collegiate level. I am incredibly grateful for their participation and support, and we’re honored to have Kevin join this illustrious group.”

In 2017, Negandhi (@KevinNegandhi) joined the studio team for ESPN College Football on ABC. He currently serves as the SportsCenter 6:00 p.m. ET co-anchor and hosts the Top 10 Heisman Trophy Finalists show.

In addition to being a part of an Emmy-nominated SportsCenter, Negandhi has hosted NFL Live, Baseball Tonight, Outside the Lines, College Football Live, NBA Tonight, and the women’s NCAA basketball Final Four. Negandhi has also hosted the Special Olympics World Games since 2015. He has been a part of special projects that include co-hosting SportsCenter’s Veterans Day specials, and in 2015, he was awarded the Team ESPN Disney Volunteer Commentator of the Year. Negandhi joined ESPN in 2006.

Prior to ESPN, Negandhi worked as a sports director at WWSB-TV in Sarasota, FL. While working in Florida, he won three Associated Press awards — “Best Sportscast” in 2004 and 2005 and “Best Breaking Sports News” in 2005. Before that, he was a sports director for KTVO-TV in Kirksville, Mo. (1998-99). Negandhi began his career as a college sports stringer at USA Today in 1995.

A native of Phoenixville, Pa., he graduated from Temple University in 1997 with a bachelor’s degree in communications. He was inducted into Temple’s School of Media and Communications Hall of Fame. Negandhi is the first Indian-American to serve on a national sports network.

Negandhi joins an illustrious group of Wuerffel Trophy voters, including Tim Brando (FOX Sports Broadcaster, Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame), Tom Brassell (Wuerffel Trophy Executive Director, All Sports Association Hall of Fame), Dale Brown (College Basketball Hall of Fame Coach), Mack Brown (College Football Hall of Fame Coach), Rodney Bullard (VP Community Affairs, Chick-fil-A®/Executive Director, Chick-fil-A® Foundation), Rob Casciola (Executive Director, Retired, National Football Foundation), Bill Curry (College Football Coach/NFL Player), Rece Davis (ESPN), Mike Ditka (College Football and Pro Football Hall of Fame), Mike Gottfried (ESPN Analyst, NCAA football coach), Archie Griffin (1974 & 1975 Heisman Trophy recipient and College Football Hall of Fame), Steve Hatchell (President/CEO of the National Football Foundation), John Huarte (1964 Heisman Trophy winner and College Football Hall of Fame), John Humenik (Executive Director, Retired, College Sports Information Directors of America), Steve Owens (1969 Heisman Trophy winner), Holly Rowe (ESPN), Laura Rutledge (ESPN & SEC Network), Steve Spurrier (1969 Heisman Trophy Winner/College Football Hall of Fame player & coach), Maria Taylor (NBC Sports), Ben Wuerffel (Financial Advisor, Capital Analysts of Jacksonville), and Don Yaeger (American Sports Journalist/New York Times Bestselling Author).

The 2022 Wuerffel Trophy Watch List will be released on July 28.

Corporate partners Dart Container Corporation/Solo Cup and Herff Jones support the Wuerffel Trophy.

For additional information, please visit and


Tom Brassell,
Todd Starowitz,